Skin · Review
Shark CryoGlow Review: Strong Features, Missing Numbers
The Shark CryoGlow is the most feature-complete LED mask you can buy near $350: four dosed treatment modes, a genuine remote, 160 tri-wick LEDs firing in every mode, real 12-week clinical testing, and under-eye cooling plates that no competitor offers. It earns its popularity. What it does not do is tell you how much light it actually delivers, and its own published blue wavelength is wrong. Buy it for the features and the cooling. Do not buy it believing you can compare its dose against a mask that publishes one.
The verdict
Specifications
Every figure below is published by SharkNinja for the US model FW312. Where the company does not publish a spec, this table says so rather than estimating it.
| Model | FW312 (Blue Frost) |
| LEDs | 160 tri-wick, 480 total light sources |
| Wavelengths (as published) | Red 630 nm / Infrared 830 nm / Blue 630 nm |
| Published irradiance | Not disclosed |
| Treatment modes | 4 |
| Session length | 4, 6, or 8 min by mode |
| Under-eye cooling | Yes, 3 chill levels |
| Power | 16.92 W (35 W peak), 7.2 V |
| Cordless | Yes, lithium-ion |
| Weight | 1.5 lbs |
| Warranty | 2 years |
| Regulatory status | FDA cleared, listed as a medical device |
| List price | ~$350 |
| Where to buy | Check price |
In the box: the mask, clip-on chill pads, the remote, and a USB-C cable. The charging stand is a separate $89.99 accessory, not included, despite bundle listings that imply otherwise.
The four treatment modes
All 160 tri-wick LEDs fire in every mode, which is a real design advantage: there are no dark zones and no hot spots, and you are not paying for LEDs that sit idle in three out of four programs.
- Better Aging, 6 minutes. Red plus infrared, aimed at fine lines and firmness. This is the mode behind Shark's headline claims.
- Skin Clearing, 8 minutes. A three-phase program: blue plus infrared, finishing with red. The only mode targeting acne.
- Skin Sustain, 4 minutes. Red, blue, and infrared together, positioned as maintenance after an 8-week cycle rather than as treatment.
- Under-Eye Revive, 5 to 15 minutes. Cooling only, no light. This is the mode that has no equivalent anywhere else in the category.
Shark states the LED programs are dosed for one treatment per day, so running them twice does not accelerate results. Under-Eye Revive is the exception and can be repeated.
InstaChill under-eye cooling
Two metal cooling points sit under the eyes with three temperature levels, and this is the CryoGlow's one genuinely unique feature. It is also the source of its most consistent design complaint.
The cooling plates occupy exactly the area where competing masks place LEDs. There are no lights in the under-eye zone of this mask. If your primary concern is crow's feet or fine lines around the eyes, the CryoGlow physically cannot treat them with light, and the plates are not removable. Cooling reduces puffiness through vasoconstriction, which is a real and immediate effect, but it is a different mechanism from photobiomodulation and it does not build collagen. Buyers who wanted both have no way to get both here.
What Shark claims, quoted directly
Because regulatory language in this category is routinely blurred, here is what SharkNinja publishes, verbatim, rather than a paraphrase:
"Clinically tested & FDA-cleared."
"The product has been FDA cleared as safe and effective for treatment of fine lines and acne."
The spec sheet separately lists Medical Device: Yes. This is a more specific and more accountable claim than the vague "FDA registered" phrasing common elsewhere in the category, and Shark deserves credit for stating the cleared indications plainly.
The clinical claims rest on two 12-week studies the company reports: 60 subjects for Better Aging, 59 for Skin Clearing, both at once-daily use. Reported outcomes include 24% lower fine line visibility, 20% firmer skin, 45% less acne, and 40% less redness. Shark publishes a clinical test document, linked in the sources below. These are manufacturer-run studies rather than independent trials, which is the norm for this category and worth weighting accordingly.
The wavelength problem
This site's standing position is that a brand confident in its dose prints it. The CryoGlow fails that test twice, once by omission and once by error.
The omission: Shark never publishes irradiance in mW/cm2. It publishes wattage (16.92 W, 35 W peak), which describes electrical draw, not the energy density arriving at your skin. Those are different quantities and one cannot be derived from the other without knowing emitter efficiency and treatment area. iRestore publishes 25 to 60 mW/cm2 by mode; Omnilux publishes roughly 30. Against those, the CryoGlow's dose is simply unknown.
The error: Shark's own support FAQ states the emitted wavelengths as follows:
"Cryoglow uses a thorough quality control processes to ensure our tri-wick LED's accurately produce light at the following wavelengths: Red 630nm, Infrared 830nm, Blue 630nm."
Blue light is not 630 nm. 630 nm is red. Clinically effective blue light for acne sits near 415 nm, the wavelength used in the Papageorgiou trial that established blue and red phototherapy for acne in the first place. This is very likely an uncorrected typo rather than a hardware defect, since a mask emitting red where blue should be would not have produced the acne results Shark reports. But it appears in the sentence where the company is specifically asserting quality control over wavelength accuracy, and it has not been fixed. For a device sold partly as acne treatment, the manufacturer does not currently publish a correct blue wavelength.
We contacted no one for comment and are not alleging the hardware is wrong. We are reporting what the manufacturer publishes, which is the only dose information a buyer can actually act on.
What owners report
The CryoGlow carries a 4.4 star average across 942 Amazon ratings, with over a thousand units sold in the past month, and ranks fourth in Amazon's Wrinkle and Anti-Aging Devices category. Shark's own site shows 4.8 stars, a gap worth noting whenever you compare a retailer rating against a brand-hosted one.
We read a sample of 30 verified purchase reviews, drawn from the most-helpful reviews at each star level so the sample is not weighted toward praise. Five complaints recur across independent reviewers, and they are consistent enough to treat as characteristics of the product rather than as isolated defects.
Battery life is the most repeated complaint
It appears at every rating level. Reviewers report anywhere from two to four sessions per charge, with a multi-hour recharge, and several report the battery failing to last a single full routine. One owner of a competing Therabody mask called the CryoGlow's battery "absolutely garbage" by comparison while otherwise liking the device. For a protocol Shark designs around daily use, this is the friction point most likely to end a routine.
The cooling plates block the area buyers most want treated
This is the single most consequential design complaint, and the most-upvoted three star review (132 helpful votes) states it plainly: the non-removable cooling patches sit between the LEDs and the under-eye skin, so no light reaches the area. That reviewer bought the mask specifically to fade dark spots under the eyes, could not, and returned it. Several others echo it, including a five star reviewer who still wished the mask reached that zone.
Light leak around the eyes comes up repeatedly, and once seriously
Shark states the LED intensity is tested to recognized eye-safety standards and that the mask includes auto-dim and eye shielding. Multiple reviewers nonetheless describe the light as uncomfortably bright through closed eyelids, with a green-tinged afterimage lasting several minutes. One parent bought it for a teenage son with acne and reported that after an 8 minute session his vision was "bleached" and took time to normalize; they ultimately taped solar eclipse film inside the mask to block it. Another reviewer stopped using the device entirely over a persistent flash in one eye.
We are not asserting the device is unsafe, and Shark's stated testing may well be accurate. But the volume of independent reports means anyone photosensitive, and any parent considering this for a teenager, should treat closed eyes as mandatory rather than optional.
Fit and pressure marks on some face shapes
The shell is rigid and the cooling inserts are metal. Reviewers describe red pressure marks on the nose and under the eyes, dents that lasted about an hour, and in one case an eye area that looked bruised. Others report the mask is heavy enough to shift during a session, and that the cooling fan is audible. None of this appears universal, and plenty of reviewers call it comfortable, but rigid masks fit faces differently and this one has less tolerance than a flexible silicone design.
The return window is shorter than the results timeline
This is the trap worth flagging loudest. Shark's own clinical claims are built on 8 to 12 weeks of daily use, and the category's independent research runs to similar timelines. Amazon's standard return window is 30 days. Two reviewers described paying full price, waiting to judge results, and discovering the window had closed. If you buy to evaluate efficacy, buy direct from Shark, where the money-back guarantee is 60 days, or decide within the first month on comfort and usability rather than on results you cannot yet see.
On efficacy the reports genuinely split. One reviewer with cystic acne credits roughly 40 daily sessions with clearing infections that repeated in-office treatments had not. Another ran the acne program daily for three months and saw better overall skin quality but no change in acne. Several report visible improvement in texture and fine lines. That spread is normal for photobiomodulation and is a reason to weight the 8 to 12 week timeline seriously rather than expecting an early verdict.
How it compares
| Spec | Shark CryoGlow | iRestore Illumina Face | Omnilux Contour Face |
|---|---|---|---|
| List price | ~$350 | ~$399 | ~$395 |
| LEDs | 160 tri-wick | 360 | 132 |
| Published irradiance | Not disclosed | 25 to 60 mW/cm2 | ~30 mW/cm2 |
| Blue (acne) mode | Yes | Yes | No |
| Under-eye cooling | Yes | No | No |
| Where to buy | Check price | Check price | Check price |
Full context for these three, plus six more devices across face, neck, and eye, is in our LED face mask comparison.
Who should buy it
Buy the CryoGlow if:
- Under-eye puffiness bothers you more than fine lines around the eyes.
- You want acne and anti-aging modes in a single device.
- You value a polished interface, a remote, and guided programs.
- You want the lowest price among the credible name-brand masks.
Look elsewhere if:
- Crow's feet are your main target. The cooling plates sit where the LEDs would need to be.
- You choose devices by published dose. Shark does not give you the number.
- You want maximum optical output for the money, where 360 LEDs and a published 60 mW/cm2 beat 160 LEDs and an unknown figure.
- You need a device that survives a full week of travel on one charge. Battery life is this mask's weakest practical point.
- You have melasma or pigmentation-prone skin. Shark's clearance covers fine lines and acne, not pigmentation, and at least one owner reports spots worsening.
One buying note that applies to everyone: Shark's own results timeline is 8 to 12 weeks, while Amazon's return window is 30 days. Buying direct from Shark carries a 60 day money-back guarantee, which is the closer fit if you intend to judge the device on results.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Shark CryoGlow FDA approved?
No, and the distinction matters. SharkNinja states the device is FDA cleared, not FDA approved. Clearance (the 510(k) pathway) means the manufacturer demonstrated the device is substantially equivalent to one already on the market; approval is a far higher bar reserved mostly for high-risk devices, and essentially no home LED mask carries it. Shark's own support page states that the product has been FDA cleared as safe and effective for treatment of fine lines and acne, and its spec sheet lists the mask as a medical device. That is a legitimate and relatively strong claim for this category, but anyone searching for FDA approval will not find it here or on any competing mask.
What wavelengths does the Shark CryoGlow use?
Shark publishes red at 630 nm and infrared at 830 nm, both of which match the peer-reviewed literature for collagen stimulation. The blue figure is where it breaks down: Shark's own support FAQ lists blue at 630 nm, which is not blue light at all. 630 nm is red. Clinically effective blue light for acne sits near 415 nm, the wavelength used in the trial the whole category rests on. This is almost certainly an uncorrected error on Shark's page rather than a hardware issue, but it means the manufacturer does not currently publish an accurate blue wavelength for a mode it sells as acne treatment.
What is the Shark CryoGlow's irradiance?
Shark does not publish it. The company discloses electrical figures (16.92 watts, 35 watts peak, 7.2 volts) but never states irradiance in mW/cm2, which is the only number that describes the light dose actually reaching your skin. Watts consumed at the wall is not the same as energy delivered to tissue. Competing brands including iRestore (25 to 60 mW/cm2 by mode) and Omnilux (around 30 mW/cm2) do publish it. Until Shark discloses a figure, the treatment dose of this mask cannot be compared with the devices that do.
Does the Shark CryoGlow actually work?
The underlying science is sound, and Shark's own clinical testing is more substantial than most of the category. The company reports two 12-week studies, one with 60 subjects for the Better Aging mode and one with 59 subjects for Skin Clearing, both at once-daily use, with results including a 24% reduction in fine line visibility and a 45% reduction in acne. Those are manufacturer-run studies, not independent trials, and results are self-reported by the brand. Independent research on red and near-infrared light (Wunsch and Matuschka, 2014) does support measurable collagen density increases, so the mechanism is real. Expect gradual change over 6 to 12 weeks, not a transformation.
Is the Shark CryoGlow FSA or HSA eligible?
Shark states that the CryoGlow may be eligible for FSA and HSA benefits, subject to the requirements of your plan administrator, and notes that you may be asked for a letter of medical necessity. That is a conditional claim, not a guarantee. Because the device is cleared for treatment of fine lines and acne and is listed by the manufacturer as a medical device, it has a stronger case than most beauty devices, but eligibility is decided by your administrator rather than by Shark.
How often should you use the Shark CryoGlow?
Once per day for the LED modes. Shark states the programs were dosed for a single daily treatment, so doubling up does not double results. The Under-Eye Revive cooling mode is the exception and can be run multiple times a day. Session lengths are fixed by mode: 6 minutes for Better Aging, 8 minutes for Skin Clearing, 4 minutes for Skin Sustain, and an adjustable 5 to 15 minutes for Under-Eye Revive.
Shark CryoGlow vs Omnilux: which should you buy?
Buy the Omnilux Contour Face if you want clinical pedigree and a published dose: the platform appears in dozens of peer-reviewed studies and Omnilux states roughly 30 mW/cm2. Buy the CryoGlow if you want features, a blue acne mode, a remote, and the under-eye cooling nothing else offers. The Omnilux has no blue mode at all, so it cannot treat acne. The trade is credentials and transparency against features and versatility.
Can you use the Shark CryoGlow with your eyes open?
Shark says yes, that the LED intensity is tested to recognized eye-safety standards, and that the mask includes auto-dim and eye-shielding features. The company still advises against staring directly at the light source. Owner reports are less comfortable than that. Multiple verified reviewers describe the light as uncomfortably bright through closed eyelids and a green-tinged afterimage lasting several minutes. One parent reported that their teenage son's vision was temporarily bleached after an 8 minute session and resorted to taping solar eclipse film inside the mask. Another stopped using it over a persistent flash in one eye. Keep your eyes closed for the entire session, and if you are photosensitive, on photosensitizing medication, or buying for a teenager, speak to a clinician first.
How long does the Shark CryoGlow battery last?
It is cordless with a lithium-ion battery, and battery life is the most repeated complaint in owner reviews at every star level. Reports range from two to four sessions per charge, with a recharge taking a few hours, and several owners report the battery failing to complete a single full routine. Shark does not publish a session-count figure. For a protocol built on daily use, plan on charging every second or third day, and treat this as the device's weakest practical point. The charging stand is a separate $89.99 accessory, not included with the mask despite appearing in some bundle listings.
Can the Shark CryoGlow make melasma or dark spots worse?
Possibly, and it is worth caution. One verified reviewer in their late forties reported additional dark spots after several uses and stopped. Melasma is known to be aggravated by both light and heat, which is why dermatologists are careful with energy-based treatments on melasma-prone skin, and this device combines LED output with a mask that sits directly against the face. Shark makes no melasma claim either way and its clearance covers fine lines and acne, not pigmentation. If you have melasma or are prone to post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, ask a dermatologist before buying rather than testing it on your own face inside a 30-day return window.
Methodology and disclosures
Specifications and all quoted claims come from SharkNinja's US product page and support documentation, verified July 2026. Where Shark does not publish a figure, we say so rather than estimating it. Owner feedback is drawn from a sample of 30 verified purchase reviews on the Amazon US listing, taken from the most-helpful reviews at each star level so the sample is not weighted toward positive sentiment. We report recurring themes rather than counts, and we do not treat review text as clinical evidence. Editor scores weight optical specification and disclosed dose (35%), wavelength coverage versus claimed uses (20%), protocol burden (15%), design and fit (15%), and price relative to the field (15%). We have not lab-tested this device. EcomProphet is reader-supported: we earn commissions on qualifying purchases through links on this page, and commissions do not affect scores.
Sources (5)
We cite primary sources only: peer-reviewed research, regulatory records, manufacturer specifications, and our own datasets.
Manufacturer specifications and claims
Clinical research
- Wunsch A, Matuschka K (2014). A controlled trial to determine the efficacy of red and near-infrared light treatment in patient satisfaction, reduction of fine lines, wrinkles, skin roughness, and intradermal collagen density increase. Photomedicine and Laser Surgery, 32(2), 93-100.
- Papageorgiou P, Katsambas A, Chu A (2000). Phototherapy with blue (415 nm) and red (660 nm) light in the treatment of acne vulgaris. British Journal of Dermatology, 142(5), 973-978.